Graduation Day!

15 November 2002 - 9:15 p.m.

I decided to wear a trouser suit today, as I figured everyone else would be dressed smartly too.

We arrived at Ether (a nightclub) for our gowns, etc, and photographs. At first I got given the wrong hood, so I had to get that sorted out! The photographer was good, but it was a bit worrying when he managed to unbutton the hood from my shirt button and attach it to a scroll (for the photograph) without me noticing.....

The ceremony itself was nothing like I was expecting. I don't really recall what I was expecting to be honest.

My parents met a friend there whose son was graduating at the same time, so they followed us into the church and found some seats. Adrian (the son) was seated near the back, and I was in the centre, near the main aisle. I was suprised to see 2 other members from my course there! Sadly, one couldn't make it.

I looked through the programme, and found myself on page 30. No problem, plenty of time until I was up!

Or so I thought....

I wasn't as nervous as I thought I'd be, but the adrenaline cancelled out some of it.

It was all so..... formal! We even had instruction sheets left for us to tell us what to do when we were up!

One of the most memorable parts of the ceremony - apart from the part I had to play - was when a blind man we had all gotton to know went up for his award. The applause was fantastic, and his guide dog looked as though it was enjoying the moment too. (She may just have been petrified though, you never can tell)

Afterwards, there were press photos, the usual throwing-of-the-mortarboards picture, etc. And then it was time for me and Adrian to find our parents, who would be in the bar at Ether.

We ended up bumping into each other (me & A) in the bar, but where were they?

So we went hunting around the town for them!!

Eventually we found them, but only because dad came looking for us! They had found a better spot, and didn't mention it to us. It didn't help that mum had my mobile, and it was on silent..... (It was the only number I could remember, so A lent me his phone to try to get in contact)

But, all in all, it was a great day. It seems so long ago, and yet so memorable both at the same time. I'll never forget it, that's for sure - it was a good experience.

Tomorrow's update will be on my tattoo, and the faces I manage to pull during it.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble