The walk

18 April 2003 - 10:56 p.m.

As mentioned yesterday, the walk across the moors DID happen after all.

I picked P up at half 3, and set off for the hills. We made a decision as to where to go whilst on the way there, and P decided she wanted to be in the sun no matter what. So that ruled out the route I'd planned....

After an hour, I stopped P, as I'd spotted a herd of red deer. She'd never seen them before, so it was great yet unusual to see them at that time in the day.

P was fascinated by the sheep, and there were lambs as well as the ewes scattered over the hills dotting them with white. She asked if they were vicious, so I told her no, they're just stupid.

It was everso windy, and I had to hold my hat to my head the whole time. It wasn't cold though, as the sun was very warm today.

My far-too-white trainers were getting nice and dusty, and I can now draw patterns in the brown film. However, they need a bit more wear and tear for them to look right with anything.

P was determined to get a tan, so she rolled up her trousers. I didn't do this, as I am renowned for having reflective legs. I know hiding them makes it worse, but I'm scared of what I'd do to people's eyes.

After taking in the surroundings, the wildlife and the views of familiar places through the haze, we headed back to mine. We had guests so she was shy at first, but I managed to persuade her to come in and see where I live. She already knows most of the family, but she got to see the dogs she'd heard so much about - they were reasonably good, which is a good thing, as she's afraid of many dogs and ours are the same weight as me and P put together.

She said hello to Godfrey - again - and had a nose around my gadgets (she was inmpressed with the mini bar, CD curtains, and my guitar - unfortunately she wanted me to play it.)

On the way back to the hotel, I took a small detour. There's a ford in the village in which she is staying, but she hasn't explored there yet. She'd never seen a ford before, so I drove through it. It's lovely, set in a small lane, surrounded by cottages and a stone footbridge the length of the water (which is a fair way!)

It's only 8 or 9 weeks until she goes home, so I'm going to try and show her as much as possible before she leaves. The only trouble is getting the time off to travel to places.

Anyway, I'm off to check on Godfrey.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble