Making the most of a day gone to waste

03 May 2003 - 8:50 p.m.

The trip to the island was cancelled this morning, as the weather was too bad for the boat to sail.

We found out just before we got there, after a 2 hour journey. We were not impressed!

We were too early for anything to be open, so we went walking. I have visited the town many, many times over the years, and so I gave them a tour. In the rain.

At lunch time, I bought some chips (not enough vinegar and far too much salt, but they were nice and hot all the same) We managed to get back to the car, and had a 'picnic'. I made a chip butty, as P had brought along sandwiches for everyone. It was the first time the Slovaks had eaten chips before, and V burnt her tongue on one!

I took the pair around a few more coves, beaches and cliffs before heading back home the scenic way.

Across the moors were very large, blackened patches where - over the past few weeks - arsonists have ruined the view.

I managed to stop off at my favourite pet shop on the way back, to pick up some rat food for Godfrey, and some crickets for Rosie. Why are people so damn squeamish about the crickets?!

After a brief visit home, I took off with the cocoa and blackcurrant jam, as P and V were going to teach me how to cook a Slovak dish. It didn't turn out 100% as they had expected, but it was very nice all the same.

Next week, the island trip is going ahead again. Touch wood!!

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble