Rosie's first moult! (8/10/2003)

09 October 2003 - 9:14 p.m.

WARNING: If you don't like spiders, look away...

To wake up yesterday to find Rosie on her back, legs splayed, was a shock to say the least. I knew that tarantulas shed their outgrown skins (much in the same way as snakes), but I had not been prepared to see it first-hand!

I took some photographs with the good camera, tried to make her more comfortable (humidity raised slightly), and then left her alone. I would have loved to watch, but unfortunately work beckoned. Plus, too much stress could kill the poor girl, and my face looking through the glass might have tipped her over the edge.

When I arrived home, there she was - vibrantly coloured, and looking exhausted.

I carefully removed the cast-off exoskeleton, and have been scaring people with it ever since.

Rose is still in recovery, and I am anxious about her. This is my first experience with such a creature, and I just don't want to screw up in any way at all...

Here's to my girl. I'm so proud of her!

Oh, and here's a wee pic of the shed skin. Sorry it's a bit crap, but I won't be getting the good film developed any time soon...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble