I feel like ranting tonight

25 November 2004 - 8:12 p.m.

Now then, the local council approached many businesses to ask for details for a new brochure they would be bringing out in the near future.

That was well over a year ago, and it has finally been published. Hooray!!

Or not.

There are spelling mistakes galore, including place names, addresses, and general text. I will not even start on the grammar, it is that bad. It has been niggling at me for a few days now.

Not to mention the fact that the information is now almost entirely out of date...

Towns and villages have been moved to different counties, a park is now a town, and hill ranges and even a national park have moved entirely. They have the map correct, but then go on to give directions to locations that are not there.

Actually, the directions are appalling - I pity anyone who decides to try to find any of these places.

'When you get to the unsignposted National Park, turn left at the pub.'

Where? Which pub? The county maybe??

Is that not a touch vague? Or is it just me?

There is just SO much more wrong with it...

I am in no way fantastic at English, but it beggars belief that they even proof-read it. Since it took a phenominal length of time for them to produce this pile of scrap - thanks to our funding - for it to be at such a poor standard, I feel compelled to write them a nice letter.

I am currently shortening it drastically, and altering it to be - if not polite - readable. Constructive criticism and pointers from a local person under the age of 25. A Young Person, from whom They would like to hear. Yeah, right. Listening would be good then.

The Letter shall be hand delivered tomorrow, but who am I kidding. It will be in the office bin - I mean recycling box - in minutes.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble