I survived! (Warning - long entry!)

28 June 2005 - 9:52 p.m.

And I am sure as hell going back again - it was worth the 7-year wait for a ticket!

Tuesday: Packed. Left home, got lost, but eventually met S, A's friend. Stayed there for the night.

Wednesday: Travelled to the festival site. Got in and set up for 11.30am. Not bad going! Tried to get my bearings, but that just was not going to happen.

Went to the Stone Circle after dark and witnessed the ritual of the entire populus cheering at the sunset. Extraordinary.

And, indeed, the sunrise.

Thursday: A bit of exploring. A lot of walking. Expensive food... Bloody hot and heavy weather. Even my sunscreen factors 50, 30 and 25 failed me, and left me with severe burns. Covered up at 10am, to stay covered up the rest of the festival.


Rumbles of thunder and pieces of lightning were just beginning to show by the end.

Friday: I woke up. The rain was lashing down, I could feel the thunder in my ribcage, and see the lightning through the tent. I love storms, but somehow I fell back to sleep again.

I next awoke when it was light, feeling rather sweaty. Then I realised that the rain - which was still lashing down extremely hard - was also running through my tent, soaking into everything in the middle. i.e. Me. Luckily, my unworn pyjama trousers that I had placed underneath my sleeping bag for some reason had soaked up the worst of it...

My pillow was my clothes, all placed in a carrier bag to keep them together. The damn hole in the bottom meant that water was gradually soaking up through them. Luckily only a few items got wet.

I placed a bin bag underneath my sleeping bag and passed out once again.

I had forgotton to turn my mobile off, so it rang a bit later on. It was mum, wondering if I was okay, as the reports were dreadful. No power at the stages, lightning striking several of them (and Dance Village beer tent)... I was fine. Quite happy to stay in my tent for a while longer. I could still see the lightning through the canopy, so it was probably for the best.

When eventually the storms had passed, the devastation was incredible. Many tents in our field were flooded, and everything was turning to mud. Deep, liquid mud. Mmmm, good job I left my wellies at home then...

In a field not far away, tents were actually fully underwater. Including S's dad's... I will post a few pics as soon as I get them back, although I am sure most of you will have seen the carnage.

Went to see the White Stripes, but almost collapsed a few songs into the set. I sat on an upturned bin in a lake on the sidelines for the rest of it, which upset me.


Saturday: After a night of knee-deep mud, things were drying out by morning. My tent was dry, my clothes almost.

S's dad had come back to try and salvage things, but discovered someone had pinched the gazebo and 2 tents. Nice.

I was abandoned, as eveyone went off to see the Peatbog Faeries (I was tempted...). I instead ventured to the Pyramid stage and pushed my way as far to the front as possible. So close to the stage, but unfortunately I hit a wall of hardcore Coldplay fans that just were not budging. I am not the biggest fan, but their set made my festival - incredible.

Sunday: We were going to see a band mid-morning. We left for the Jazz World area, and remained there for several hours, doing nothing. We missed the band. Time went on.

And then my patience ran out. I got up, left the group, and had a bloody fantastic time on my own. I was doing my thing for a change, and it felt good.

I helped out in the circus tent for a long while for the hell of it, made juggling balls, and learnt how to use them. After years of trying to understand it, it took just 10 minutes of tuition to get the basics. I can actually juggle now! Almost...

A few bands, a lot of shopping and a hell of a lot of walking later, I took my drum and didjeridoo (yes, that's right folks...) and spent the rest of the night floating between the circus and cabaret tents.

Yesterday: Time to leave :(

We got out and home in quick time, which is more than I can say for a lot of people - At least we could avoid the motorways...

Ahhh... a nice bath... Ouch! My suburn did not enjoy that, and decides to rebel by peeling profusely all over the house.

Today: Frantic photograph taling to use up the film in my camera. Rushing in to the 1-hour place, they said I could have them back tomorrow. No fair - I am an impatient person, I want them now! I was going to take them in to grandma, but I had to pay here a rather bland visit instead.

And then the rain came down again, with a bit of storm noise.

As soon as I got home, everyone else went to visit a friend.

I brought the weather back with me, and the storm raged on. Lightning was striking in very close proximity to the house, which hurt my ears and scared the absolute shit out of me and the animals.

But it all passed in due time.

Tomorrow: Work. Ugh.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble