Dismay

23 February 2006 - 12:09 p.m.

I have just heard a piece of news on the radio, and I pray it is not true.

Our Government is once again trying to stamp out our way of life. Nothing new, I hear you cry.

The Pound is in jeopardy, imperial measurements banned, and now the mile is under fire. Apparently it is not European enough.

Much to the dismay of the beurocrats, I still measure in stone, pounds, ounces, pints, gallons, fluid ounces� I pay in pounds and pence� I travel in miles, feet, inches�

I am British (English/Scottish mixture, to be specific), NOT European. I am sorry if this is offensive to some of you, but why do we have to conform? These are just some of the things that make our island just that � our island. Not the collective island with collective ideals and collective culture, but our unique system. You come to visit because we are different, quirky, so why can't we remain so?

I think that is my rant over. I feel much calmer now I have taken it out on the computer keyboard. I feel can breathe properly again for the time being.

On another note, it has just started to snow. It is a shame it will not settle here, but nice to see nonetheless.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble