A solemn day

02 February 2012 - 6:27 p.m.

It is the beginning of February.

It is -3 degrees.

The pond is frozen, and has been for days.

Someone has been home each day, keeping the place warm.

This morning, a gruesome sight awaited us. Stone lights were encrusted in the ice of the pond. Scales covered the bench. A massacre. A very sad sight. Dismay.

We know the culprit.

Herons are only seen around here in the summer months, and have not been seen at all these past 2 years, so we were not expecting to find this. The patio doors of the dining room overlook the pond, which is embedded in a former raised flowerbed, and is the room most people take up in during the course of the day.

How?! Why did we not see it?? I feel terrible... All my babies...

Only time will tell the extent of the damage - I pray that the devilbird did not take them all...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble