Diamond Jubilee

05 June 2012 - 8:45 p.m.

So may spectacular things have happened for the diamond jubilee...

On Sunday the regatta on the Thames. 1,000 boats of all kinds. A stunning row-boat to head the procession. The huge royal barge. The London Symphony Orchestra and choir on one. Scottish bagpipers on another. Maori rowers. Venetian gondoliers. Local dragon boats. The Matthew - a beautiful replica caravel. A barge with a set of church bells pealing the whole route through. And a whole lot more besides.

Last night was magical, even though I would have gone out and found a hill for a better view if I'd known beforehand (damn work!). It gave me goose pimples to look out of the windows and realise that all of the beacons were on fire. The realisation that, whilst I could only see 2 from the house, another 4.200 were burning along with it. Line of sight across the island. Indeed, the Commonwealth over. It made something stir inside, although I am not entirely sure what it was. Pride perhaps? Wonderment. A connection to the past.

Tonight, a thrush sings its heart out. Beautiful :))

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble