A change from dreaming

21 July 2012 - 7:34 p.m.

The little owls were out. The sounds pervaded my sleep, and I lay there listening to the pair exchange calls. After half an hour of this, I decided to get up and try to find them.

I looked out of the window in time to see a beautiful, big, bright meteor shoot across Perseus, which made my being awake in the wee hours worth it.

I padded downstairs, unlocked the door and crept out. No sign of the pair of owls. Judging by the noise, they were in the trees, within my sights but shrouded by darkness.

It was such a still and mild night, so I just stood and looked up. I cannot remember the last time it was fine enough to see the Milky Way, let alone have the skies so clear. The number and depth of stars was simply breathtaking.

If sleep before work had not beckoned, I could have stayed out quite happily until the sun rose.

I went back to bed. I lay listening to the owls until they drifted off over the woodland, and sleep came to me once again.

Magical.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble