Visitor

29 July 2012 - 11:00 p.m.

For the past week or so, we have had an interesting guest at the cafe.

We get several homing and racing pigeons each year, but this one is by far the cheekiest!

He regularly enters via the front door, wandering under tables - occupied or not - hoovering up food debris. If the front door is shut, the back door will do. Or an open shed...

Over the past few days, I have talked to him, fed him, picked him up... I have become rather fond of this wee fellow.

Today, I paid attention to the rings he wears. One is a reference number. One - a telephone number?? I noted it down (with the help of a few handfuls of garden peas - his favourite!) and dialled.

Success! The pigeon will be returning home in the next few days! His owner jokingly asked if I'd like him as a pet. I was rather tempted by that idea...

Sadly, he has to be returned home. Which is over a hundred miles away. Not bad actually, considering he was let go in France!

I hope he sticks around and makes it safely back to where he belongs.

I'll miss him when he's gone!

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble