Back to reality

21 October 2012 - 7:55 p.m.

A long, emotional and tiring day, and I am home again.

Granted, it was not a perfect holiday, but we all have our moments.

The only thing different this time is we both now wear a ring, as is traditional. Patterned silver bands with each others nicknames engraved inside (our real names would have been too long, and too formal).

We got engaged after a friend insisted on an engagement party the following night - and we had no objections. Granted, it was still a shock, and not how I'd ever imagined it, but it happened nonetheless.

We chose the rings, we had a blessing as we exchanged them (in a bar, ha) and shared celebratory baklava with the uninvited party of onlookers.

When that was over, we were driven by the couple who spurred our engagement to the park where I insisted that I be asked - properly. Sadly he wouldn't stretch to getting on one knee, and it was weird having people breathing down our necks, but it happened.

Later that evening, when my love finished work, we were collected by that same couple and shipped off for a nights clubbing.

Surreal was not the word.

I felt sick the whole time. How did I break this one to the family?!

It turns out that a text message was all I could afford, but the news got digested in due time and accepted.

It seems so long ago now that I was in the arms of my love, but it has only really been half a day.

Once again, I was a mess at the airport...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble