A thought to those less fortunate

09 March 2013 - 6:35 p.m.

A homeless man came to the counter and asked for scraps or leftovers we may have. He explained he was homeless and apologised for his presence and having to ask.

I explained his situation to the chefs, the head of which was quite disgusted. I gave him a talking to, and was actually shocked at his disregard - that'll not be forgotten in a hurry.

They agreed to cook him a bacon and sausage bap, as chips were off, and I went to let him know. I offered him a drink, but he declined the offer.

He asked the way to the county town (not local then) and I told him the way to go, and let him know that it'll be a very rainy 22 miles... Unfortunately that's our nearest homeless shelter being a rural area.

One of my customers overheard the conversation and flagged me down. They asked if I'd managed to sort something out as they were prepared to pay for a meal if not. I adore my customers, they have hearts of gold.

On leaving, he shook my hand and held it hard whilst his eyes welled up. I wished him well, and watched him leave.

I hope he gets to his destination okay.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble