Home again

29 April 2013 - 12:07 p.m.

The first few days were windy and a bit wet, but I had enough to occupy myself whilst my love went to work on a building site somewhere.

I visited the usual friends and was taught how to create frilly scarves. Not that they're my sort of thing, but they look amazing and oh my, how addictive! Felt old when I recounted to the family how I'd taken to knitting scarves to pass the time ha!

The day before my birthday was a national holiday there, so went to sit in the square in the sunshine. Looking up, there was a lovely sunbow - magical.

We were snuggled up in the evening watching TV and I started to think about my birthday and the cards I'd brought to open. My train of thought led to the fact that there's usually a tenner inside my grandmothers card. But hers would be missing this year. The grief just hit me and I couldn't stop it. He just held me tightly until it passed, and he has no real idea just how much I appreciated that.

The boy got my birthday off, and he made it special. We went down the coast, ran into people we knew, took a few photos, had a small party back at the apartment. He got me some shoes for my birthday, and some painted seashells ("I love you" in Turkish), as well as a surprise birthday cake. A few calls and messages from family to top the day off.

Back to the usual early starts until my last day. He took it off and again we went out. Everywhere. We walked the beach, we walked the market, we walked the park. We ate out, we travelled the coast the other way on the back of a scooter. It was beautiful. We stopped and had tea, and ended up on a small sheltered wooden jetty over the deeps blue waters teeming with fish. The sun shone and it was just so peaceful. I could have stayed there with him all day long.

I can't believe I only left yesterday. No arguments at all. No tears except the blip. Only happiness, love, and the occasional sense of boredom and normality. It was just... comfortable loveliness.

Good to be home I guess, but I miss him.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble