For the love of plants...

27 June 2013 - 9:32 p.m.

I was upset when I arrived home from work yesterday. The hydrangea in my bouquet had started to go, so she put the ENTIRE THING in the GREENHOUSE with NO WATER on a SUNNY DAY.

I had a shower, hugged a crystal and found peace.

Dad inadvertently gave me the idea of cutting bits from around the garden in order to make a new one. It takes at least 12 hours of soaking cuttings before use, so off I went with a bucket and a pair of secateurs.

I clipped some of everything that I could find, just to see how it would last if nothing else.

Today, I used everything except a few bits that were overkill, and mum actually likes it. She - like me - was astounded that we had so much and that it could look so pretty together.

I am hoping the lupin will put up more flowers, as I took the only one, and who knew that oriental poppies could be used as a cut flower?? My new favourite!!

When the boss finished work today, she popped around with a water lily from a customer (wow!!), whilst I was unfortunately in my PJs and dressing gown and knitting bright pink bootees...

I got dressed, planted the water lily, and slipped on the wet decking boards as I made my way to the pond. It hurt both me and the now-dislodged plant.

I swept the debris into a pile, to clear up when it was dry and I was not in pain.

I re-planted the lily. I opted for the safer route across the lawn to avoid the wood.

I slipped on a slate stepping stone.

I wanted to cry.

Eventually, I - slightly wet and swelling in places - got the lily into the pond. YAY!

I fancy I may ache tomorrow...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble