My alternative workout for the week.

22 July 2013 - 11:35 a.m.

Saturday night, we had to stay in harbour as the conditions were not right to set sail. Still, we jumped ship to listen to a 1930s-style jazz band (aka some of my customers) at the RNLI lifeboat house, before they ran out of beer forcing us to head for the pub.

Back on ship, it was too stuffy in the cabins, so we headed up to the decks to sleep. As did most of the ship it seems!

I lay awake on one of Irene's wooden benches, watching the night sky and listening to the sounds around us. 2 of the crew got back after all of us, and although I couldn't see them, I had been looking at the main mast. That is where their shadows met in a passionate kiss, and my heart actually felt happy for them.

I got up around 4.20am, and packed away my sleeping bag.

At just after 5am, we were out of the harbour - with a surprising number of onlookers - and when we were in open water, it was time to raise the mizzen sail. The boss, a crew member and I were the first ever all-girl team to do it without someone macho stepping in - woohoo!!

As I watched the familiar coastline shrink into the distance, I started to feel not so good. I also wished I had brought the heaviest winter coat with me too, as the wind was something else, but the nausea overrode it.

I was classy. Yes, the seas were lumpy, but everyone else was polite enough to go below deck to use their toilets. Not me, oh no! I went and heaved right over the side. Time after time after time...

By 10 am I felt fine, and had got my sea legs back. Oh, thank the heavens!!!

We stopped for elevenses, and I was damn ready for that! I had seen breakfast twice, and had forfeited my morning tea.

By this time, we were off the coast of Wales, and set anchor. It took a lot of work, but we got there! And I lost my beloved sunglasses in doing so. I was having to hoik buckets of sea water up to lubricate the anchor chains, but the wind caught them and WHOOSH! Gone. I tried to fish them out with said bucket, but no luck and on they drifted. Some lucky Welsh bastard is getting a new pair of Oakleys.

The local RNLI must have been on training exercises as 2 boasts were suddenly alongside asking us questions. They were dead impressed, which was amusing to me as I have so much respect for them as well.

After lunch, we raised the anchor. More buckets of water. I was glad I chose linen trousers, as they dried so fast!

The anchor was having trouble, so we raised it off the bottom, and then the line was set on a winch. A lady was struggling so much, so I set it in motion. I don't think she actually did anything, and this thing was heavy!! Near the end, I had to call in the boss to take over as my arms didn't want to carry on.

Then, it was time to raise the main sail! Oh my, what work...

Skipper decided that the staysail was warranted too, and although my job was to hold a line, I needed help as the wind was causing it to lift my body weight...

We averaged around 6.5 knots so left it at just 3 sails for the way home, but we made such good time that we had an hour to spare just cruising around the bay where I work. Ha!

As we mad our way back to the harbour, there was a mayday call for where we were, so the crew got kitted up and unhooked the rib to go out. The lifeboat beat us to it though, and the coastguard thanked us for our time. The RNLI then cam alongside us for more looks and questions, before heading back to the lifeboat house.

Into harbour, more ropes and trying on ballast.

Then our goodbyes.

I really hope to see her again, and her wonderful crew and the mouthorgan-playing skipper.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble