Things that go WWRRRRRRRRRRR in the night...

04 September 2013 - 7:27 p.m.

On my way home from fitness last night, my car slowed as I took my foot off the accelerator near the rise of the hill. The car continued at a slow pace towards the corner a few hundred metres down the other side. It was dark, it was late, it was quiet, so I was in no rush whatsoever.

I let the momentum of the car's weight carry me forwards.

The noise started as a low hum towards the rise, and got louder at an alarming pace. I was convinced that it was a heavy farm vehicle and I was going to encounter it. There. In the dark. When it it definitely not stopping, or even slowing pace. My heart started to pound, my eyes scanning the dark to ascertain the machine's whereabouts before it was too late.

Suddenly, through the darkness, there it was!! The noise was deafening. The lights bright.

The Hercules flew directly over my car, and although startled, the relief and surprise flooded in.

We have seen a lot of very low-flying ones going over the house for the past few days. I love them, as well as the other beasts they fly around here. In daylight. They can come as close as they like! I'd just rather not meet one so close in the dark again...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble