One year on and it's still a sad day

05 February 2014 - 7:40 p.m.

When they predicted we'd have a harsh winter, I was expecting the white stuff. not this.

All of today's appointments will be lived out next week, with any luck. The flooding and gales meant I couldn't even get down the road this morning. Gutted, as I'd been waiting for today with anticipation. Today happens to be the first anniversary of Grandma's passing, and it would all have helped take my mind off of things.

So, today I have not ventured outside to be honest. I have tidied, made my trouser collection a touch lighter, and reconciled the copious amounts of change and cheques I have received so far for my sponsorship.

I have also sat with mum (she went for a minor op today), and shared the cakes and chocolate I had made for my rendezvous with J and the baby. Greater need and all of that.

More trees down.
More roads wiped out.
Coastal ports damaged.
Boats sunk.
Railways taken out. Literally washed away.
More villages being evacuated.
More theft from those villages.

Another 3 days of extreme warnings (so far).
More water.
More strong winds.
More misery.

And yet, I shall go to work tomorrow and act like it is not happening.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble