The end of another workday cometh

19 February 2014 - 10:56 p.m.

It turns out that the 'suspicious object' that the army came to blow to smithereens was the starter motor from some unknown vehicle. A starter motor! It wasn't even the usual military surplus... Pfff...

Work today was busy. One staff member got sent home due to personal reasons. She won't get paid for those missed moments - unlike the now ex head of the county council... After 3 months out of office for some reason classified to us commoners, she has been 'let go'. For those previous 3 months, however, she was paid FULL PAY. Yes, her absence earned her roughly double my yearly wage would be even before tax. Since I cannot even get sick pay until I've been off for a week - and then only with a doctors note - I am wondering how on earth I can get a job like that.

I like my job, I really do, but some days are more strain than others. I am not sure if I have developed tinnitus or whether the ringing in my ears was caused by the sheer noise in the cafe. Oh, and the dirt!! Don't get me started on the dirt... I don't even want to know how some of these people live. Yet, strangely, I am quite content for them all to believe that I must be everso house-proud and tidy. I'd love to see the look on my own face when somebody says that.

Yeah, right! I'm clean I hasten to add, but tidy is just not the lifestyle I choose, purely out of necessity. Wherever it lands is where I find it again. If I tidy, finding stuff becomes a challenge to say the least, and therefore things tend to stay where they are. Usually in a pile. (Unless it's the kitchen. Sacred space, that. Oh, and the bathroom too. Sacred for different reasons.)

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble