Humbled by experience

15 October 2014 - 2:22 p.m.

I'm back. The jet lag isn't so bad at the mo...

I have had the most amazing, active, emotional time immersed in cultures I have come to love.

I loved the people, the places, the food, and everything in between.

I came to realise what little I could live on and just how much I could achieve.

I also loset 3 1/2 kilos living on good food and healthy exercise.

I am the person who, after a night throwing up in a foreign land, climbed an almost vertical mountain pass (up, over and down the other side) and actually made it despite feeling like shite. I could not have done it without the most beautiful, kind, happy people I had the pleasure to be grouped with. I still get emotional with gratitude every time I even think about that day.

I was not the only one to have an off time, but we all pulled each other through.

I miss the trek and the homestays. I think we gatecrashed 3 weddings in 3 days... Good times! The warmth of the people was an eye opener, and we met every family we stayed with, and a LOT more along the way who came to greet us on the roads (and tracks and rice terraces...). We were also amazed to NOT SEE a SINGLE other foreigner the whole time!!

The project was hard. We worked our asses off in the heat to improve the lives of those people, because they deserved it. From the elderly to young babies; mental health issues, deformities, amputations, fatal illnesses; orphans, runaways, the abandoned.

I have made some really great friends along the way.

I can not wait for the reunion!!!

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble