Perfect day (bar the very beginning)

07 February 2015 - 7:39 p.m.

Today, I had an incredibly early start (for me). It was horrible!! I hauled my ass out of bed on the third and final alarm. By that point, I decided I was awake, and had no choice but to just go for it.

The shower was lukewarm, which I was most disappointed at.

The 'pigs didn't mind an early morning meal! They were bemused at being fed in the dark, but didn't dwell on it for long.

I journeyed to Hippy Central on icy roads across peat moors and hilltops. The Tor loomed out of the morning mists and I could do nothing but smile.

Once there, I joined a group of strangers in order to birth the most amazing Shamanic drum, from scratch!

She is beautiful! It was easier than I expected too, and got to the finish joint first.

I managed to embed a shard of rose quartz in the handle, which was what I was originally hoping for. I only went with that, however, when the ammonite refused to tie in. Too smooth and round.

The handle is a traditional cross, but not a conventional one. Instead of 4,4,4,4, the ties are 5,4,4,3. I swear I counted it - twice - but the drum wanted to be made this way so hey ho. She's got character!

I saved a little bit of the hide lace to tie onto the beater. Not sure yet if it'll be an adornment or a grip but I have plenty of time to think about it.

By the way, yes - it is a she. No explanation. She just is.

Although I can't hear her speak for a week, I am excited to do so.

I am also sure she won't be the last that I make...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble