Evening paddle

16 May 2015 - 7:04 p.m.

It was the first time I had been into the sea here since I was small. I was wearing a thick wetsuit, and never even felt the cold.

Stand-up paddle boarding was the order of the day, and it was perfectly calm weather for it! A little swell on the waves but we were all awesome. Except the one who surfs for a hobby - he kept losing his balance. Ironic.

After getting to grips with the basics in the harbour, we paddled out across the bay. Half way we rafted the boards and took turns to run across them and flip off the end.

When we got back, we hauled the boards up the beach that had been left by the receding tide and up the slipway. It seemed to take forever, as the boards are surprisingly weighty. I have a lovely bruise on my elbow from holding it, but it was totally worth it!

I got home, threw my stuff in the washing machine, and had a shower. I had to turn the water temperature right down, as for the first time ever, it felt too hot!

I didn't sleep well, despite being exhausted, as I woke up hot too.

By gods, this water sports lark will save on the heating bills!!

Today, I feel like I have been punched in the thighs, my legs are so, so tender, but in a good way. I'll get used to it...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble