My Solstice Weekend

22 June 2015 - 7:40 p.m.

Good points:

The lengthy detour took me across Dartmoor, somewhere I have never really stopped off to explore before. It was STUNNING!!!

People. They are the most wonderful, loony community ever. Nobody is judged. (Except for the actor Marc Warren, who decided to turn up as a punter then looked and acted miserable and stand-offish the whole time. Think he was dragged by the missus and the dog, who seemed to enjoy it. However, it has reaffirmed the fact that he has - in my world - serious crush status. As a matter of fact I write this sentence whilst sporting an insane grin as my mind wanders back...)

The music was epic! not all the time, but I have bookmarked people to see again.

Two people had their handfasting at the festival, and it was rather lovely. It was also the anniversary of many, many weddings, including my best friend who I helped out on her stall.

Best friend - who now has dreadlocks and actually looks amazing - mentioned that she and her spouse are intending to reaffirm their vows on their 10th year. She asked whether I would officiate and do the blessings. Fuck yes!!! Both a true honour and my worst nightmare all in one! I have just under 3 years to prepare...

Glitter. Yes, it was everywhere - on the earth, on the food, on aaalllll the people. This is a good thing, until you need to wash it off. Seriously, just enjoy it as it will be on for weeks to come. I have already washed my face over half a dozen times and I still sparkle. When I smile, I see twinkles that strobe through the rainbow as my cheeks rise and fall.

Sunshine. Unbelievably the ball in the sky did a pretty good job, even though the forecast was not too good. It got a little chill at times, but it was dry until 2am this morning when it started to pee down. I was still out, and then tried my damnedest to boil water for a hot water bottle in said weather. Tried and failed, but it took the edge off...

The food! Seriously, so much food to try!! I think I managed every single stall, and was still greedy for more...

Bad points:

Friday night I felt really ill and ducked into my tent at 9pm with a migraine due to my neck and shoulder muscles winding so tightly.

Toilets. What can I say, it's a festival! Still, as they go, they weren't too bad. They were maintained well, and hot showers were laid on too!

The few hours of midnight and beyond last night that my car keys were missing. The love and help from stoned, drunken pixies was awesome, but I ended up retracing my steps for a loooong time, with no help from staff whatsoever. Along the way, I picked up a dozen hugs, several glitter bombs, hula hoop lessons, a bioled sweet, a floral headband, 20p and a tent peg puller. Not a bad haul, but not my key! I did find it, however. By the same fucking tent I had checked a hundred fucking times...

Last but not least, the grand finale. I crashed the car. The biggest payment I have ever made, ruined.

I was doing so well, had travelled to within shouting distance of home, but a pedestrian was stupidly on the inside of a blind corner. I went to go around her in plenty of time, and slowed to a good plod, when hit a serious patch of grease. Like a true trooper, I did everything I could think of in those crucial 2 seconds. Brakes were useless, so I steered into the skid and buffered. This had the magical effect of making my car go sideways into a lot of shrubbery, coming to rest at an angle with a tree resting in my bonnet and another not too far off the rear. A perfect space. I was completely parallel to the road, yet completely off of the tarmac too.

The pedestrian I had the courtesy to miss checked I was okay, but she toddled on to her pilates session. Bitch. Loads of passers-by stopped, the women giving me numbers if I needed shelter and tea, and the men prising the door open to rescue the damsel. I had already been out and got back in to stay out of the weather, but I wasn't going to tell them.

One lady was just the kindest, and stayed with me. She called the police whilst I called the rescue services. Police came first, and they were just the most amazing guys and gals!! They were hilarious! One - also a fireman - looked it over, and they put signs out, and called highways about the tree, and generally looked after me when kind stranger hugged me and left to her appointment. I was gutted to learn that firepolice guy was trying to sell his house to buy the cafe, so I had to break the bad news. Shame, as he is awesome (and a customer). I told him to give it a few years and he can probably get it cheap.

Rescue service guy turned up and the shifts changed. He got me trimming shrubs and I also called my parents to fill them in and share my oddly upbeat misery (I felt I was obligated to do so). Dad drove out to meet me, as he had a site visit to do nearby.

I directed traffic whilst my car was hauled out of it's resting place. I couldn't watch. He called me over, and the damage was surprisingly minimal. When I say minimal, I do need a new front of the car, but the innards look fine. The radiator bent a bit, but didn't rupture (what?!) but she started fine.

Dad got to me as the car legend left and she drove! She actually DROVE all the way HOME!!! And then got a quick wash before I myself hopped in the shower...

I dread the bill, but I am so thankful to everyone and for the fact I am perfectly fine...

Now, I am well and truly ready for bed. The sorting can wait.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble