Coasteering

18 July 2015 - 5:30 p.m.

Today, I had my first experience of coasteering.

Sit-on-top kayaks are great as they let you fall freely instead of getting stuck underneath. Yep - my friend and I showed them all how it is done by going in first.

We sea-kayaked 6k (thereabouts), with a 60% chance of seeing porpoises! We were obviously in the remaining 40%, but I did get to poke some tiny jellyfish for the fun of it. I'm sure they didn't mind!

I DID mind when we rocked up to do some jumps and I got pushed off a 30' cliff. I was going to do the jump; I just got shoved before I was mentally ready, and landed awkwardly. However it was not the worst part, which in actual fact ended up being the clearly audible gasps and oohs as I headed towards the water!! The clapping when I surfaced again was a bit ironic. I sat the last jump out, and waved to ferry passengers, who all waved back and made me smile!

Back on the kayaks, we stopped off at a cove to have lunch. Our dry bag was full of sea water... Luckily, I only lost half a baguette as the other half (and everything else) was sealed into containers! I'm not entirely sure why the other didn't seal but I didn't starve by any means. I did get an extra layer to wear, as one of the guys saw me shivering with the wind chill!

Off around by foot, up and into a high, slanted cave that led down into water. Then under the water to get through a tunnel, to come out the other side to do another ascent and descent back to where we started. I enjoyed it!

Then began the journey back to the beach. Due to my bad hands, I had help with the kayak. I stuck carrying the paddles for the last bit!

I got home to the news that middle sister has a new puppy - a black Labrador - to go with their chocolate one, Spud.

All in all a great day, even if things didn't always go to plan!

I am soooooooo glad I have the day off tomorrow.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble