Charity trek 2015

16 September 2015 - 6:05 p.m.

The weekend was amazing!

So much went wrong, but so much went right.

I almost didn't catch my flight (40 minute diversion with no signposts...), I actually didn't catch my coffee (I waited 40 minutes, until last call for my flight), and I forgot my raincoat (left it in the car running to queue for coffee). When trekking in the great outdoors when remnants of a hurricane are heading your way, you need something to protect you...

I hopped into Newcastle, and actually liked the city. It has a bad reputation, but I liked it! It was easy to get to places, and generally people were nice, even if they speak funny. I found the nearest Debenhams and grabbed a slice of cake, water and hot chocolate - with cream and marshmallows - at the store before going to the coat section, which was handily located next to the cafe.

I bought a coat in minutes. It matched my hair - bright turquoise with pink zips. £50 though - ouch... Still, I loved it!

Camp was awesome, but the lady I shared with not only rolled around in her sleep, but snored loudly... Come the end of it, I was just a little sleep deprived.

The trek was amazing. It really was a challenge!! I didn't realise quite how craggy the craggy bits were, and over the course of the weekend we lost 5 or 6 people. They still met up with us on water breaks and lunch stops, and there was lovely banter between us all.

I have the honour of being the only one of our group with dry knickers come the end of Saturday! I also had the wettest coat, inside... The dry room was rammed with clothing, coats and boots!!

Sunday was drier, but harder. The scenery was stunning though, and the remains of Hadrian's Wall are incredibly in tact considering what the country has gone through over the last 2,000 years.

Goodbyes were hard, but I made some new friends and saw some old ones.

I flew back the next afternoon, so made it to a hotel by the airport. I couldn't eat my main course as I was falling asleep and didn't want to face plant into the amazing linguine particularly. I felt bad, but just couldn't eat it...

I slept just 6 hours, which was disappointing, but made my way down to an all-you-can-eat breakfast of all kinds. I went oddly healthy with yoghurt and fruits and cereal washed down with fruit juices.

Off I went into the city again. Back to Debenhams. The guy wasn't in yet! However, thanks to my awesome hair they recognised me and refunded the entire amount even though I'd lost the receipt. I hadn't noticed, but apparently it was still damp! Shame, as it was a bloody lush coat to wear. The hood stayed dry at least...

I bought a Big Issue from a homeless guy I'd seen a couple times, and left my Metro day rover ticket with a guard to pass on to someone - shame to let it go to waste, and it was only 11am.

I collected my things from the hotel and had an uneventful trip back, until I got stuck in heavy traffic. I had all the time in the world, so just went with it.

HOME!!! My own bed!!!!!! Guinea pig squeaks and a good cup of tea. Ahhhh, home...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble