Merriment and Misfortune

23 December 2015 - 5:17 p.m.

Gray came to stay on Saturday night. He left at 5 o'clock this morning...

He actually enjoyed meeting the family. It was a nice evening at youngest sister's place, for xmas round 2. It seems Gray notices things I do that nobody else - including myself - take notice of.

He says he hasn't found a pet name for me which sticks yet, although Blue comes close, for many many reasons it seems. Ironic, as he has no idea I call him Gray... (There's an 'A' in his name, hence the US spelling and not my beloved English one.)

We got up to the city to my friend's boat party, and I enjoyed it immensely! It was fantastic to catch up with so many people I haven't been able to see in years! As both of us met because of the boat owners, we both knew most other people at the party. I sat by the food, and Gray was in the living area, until the numbers dwindled and we all crammed in and watched a bit of TV over a mead or two.

On the way back, we dropped off a friend. He pinpointed that the noise coming from the brakes of Gray's car was probably grit.

The next day, I looked out a bunch of numbers and found a garage that would take a look. They dropped us home, and said that they would get spare parts for the following day, and they couldn't let it leave with no brake pads. Graham then had to tell the office that he would be working from mine instead of going in to the London office...

It was worse than we thought. I had a day at work, but poor Gray had a hellish one. The garage took the wheels off and found that the dealership to have sold it to him is unscrupulous. The car was not only clocked, but a death trap. We were told the car could have flipped over and / or exploded at any time... The garage were amazing though, and ran him up to barter for a part - the last in the county - so it could be fitted. It will no longer kill him / us but he ended up with a huge unexpected bill... Hopefully, the dealership will pay out, otherwise we'll make sure they won't be in business long...

To top off his visit, I ended up running down the dark, cold, wet lane at 5am this morning, in PJs and bare feet in the hopes he hadn't left yet. He forgot his glasses and his phone was dead, so would have had to return before he head up North for xmas...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble