Menemen

18 January 2016 - 6:39 p.m.

For one of the few times since I moved in to this place, I cooked.

I did first get the urge to wash the outside of the windows, then the car, then two loads of washing (not with the same water might I add), but I COOKED!!!

My new small, ceramic saucepan was ideal, and I made myself menemen for the first time since leaving Turkey. Or, at least, my version of it. A fantastic excuse to turf out herbs and spices, as well as the bottom of my fridge.

It was simple yet amazing, but I do miss the loaves of bread that can only be found in Turkey. Baked twice daily, and the staple of every household without question. It is used to eat your main meal with, as well as mopping up the leftovers. There's nothing remotely like it here, and it is one thing I miss terribly. A crusty baguette was just not the same...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble