The wait is on...

21 February 2016 - 5:30 p.m.

Yesterday was amazingly good, if scary and extremely draining.

Sadly, all I am talking about is the tour guide meeting, but no less huge in terms of life goals than anything else you can apply the previous sentence to.

There were around 10 of us possibles, as well as the director, a member of office staff and half a dozen actual volunteer guides. My friend and tour guide was there, and it was awesome to catch up!

The meeting itself was informative, but I did not leave feeling I'd learned anything wildly unexpected - which is a good thing.

We took a break for lunch, which I did not actually need as we had free reign throughout over a table piled high with strawberries and cream brioche, croissants, giant muffins and a few other delights.

When everyone had finished eating and drinking, the talking carried on as we set off for a 5 mile walk across a bit of the national park. It was incredibly boggy in places, but we all muddled through fine apart from the guy who had worn trainers...

I spoke to most of the group in turn, including the managing director. I don't know if it's because I knew she was scoping us all out and making notes about who be suitable, but I sounded like a pillock in my mind. I stumble over words badly when nervous. I got on really well with everyone else and conversation flowed easily. It was great to hear the different perspectives about the role, the places they'd all been and their experiences, both good and bad - a few really, really bad...

Despite the long drive home which included many assholes and 2 road rage incidents, I wrote to the director to both thank everyone and express my interest again. We shall see if it goes anywhere...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble