Shit day

11 April 2016 - 7:16 p.m.

It started with sirens just after 11am.

Then came the news.

One of our sparse community popped out of the pub up the road, where he lived and worked, on his way to get cigarettes from the shop.

He was found just outside by one of our delivery drivers, face down in the road. Dead.

Hit and run.

It shouldn't happen on a straight road, hill or no. It's only a 30mph limit at the best of times, but the youngsters don't give a shit. Just yesterday I was overtaken by a young blonde going more than twice the speed she should have been. She narrowly missed my colleague on his bicycle...

I do not envy the person who ditched their car in panic. I don't envy the weight that is on their conscience, or the penalties yet to come when they are tracked down. Lets face it, it won't be long!

This sparse community in the middle of nowhere has been both saddened and shocked.

I have also been (mis)quoted in a newspaper article (online version 1.2). Goody(!)

Not as bad as the boss - she came out wit the tasteless gem that this is proof that smoking is bad for you... We had to laugh, no matter how wrong that was. I knew him well enough to know that he'd appreciate it in his own way.

On to tomorrow. I hope the signs and bollards have gone... It'll be hard enough to face the people with a smile.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble