Tired

11 May 2016 - 5:38 p.m.

I was meant to clean out the pigs and do a load of other chores today.

The pigs are happy but not cleaned out yet. Instead, I have been to see Mum and Dad, seen Gray out the door, napped and become a yarn junkie. I feel like I have zero energy or motivation to actually do anything today, which is totally wasteful.

Having said that, I had a busy day yesterday to balance it out.

The crayfish project was good - 3 of us did 3 sites, including the control site. Some of the habitats were illegally tampered with, but the project leader is going to ask around as the land owners, renters, and people with fishing rights already know about the study.

Unfortunately for me, I was the sole executioner in our party as the young chap with us couldn't stomach the thought. Fair enough I suppose, he's only 15, but for someone who loves all creatures it's still tough for me to take a life too. (I am also praying that my vegangelist friends definitely do not find out about this. They scare me...)

We had a world first for recapturing studied animals from last year, and I got to encounter so many other things. Dippers darted up and down the river stretch. I had my first spring sighting of an orange tip butterfly, as well as a green and brown damselfly. We caught bullheads and minnows, dragonfly nymphs and leeches (urgh) before returning them. I saw a trout, and my first ever wild salmon. Being out in nature - albeit not far from habitation - was wonderful. Even if we did get soaked through on the way back to the car...

It was wonderful to get home, shower, and feel dry once again!

Gray turned up a few hours later, and we headed to the cinema. We ate there, as timing was crucial, and went to the 9pm showing. We made up exactly half of the number of people who stayed for the credits and the 2 hidden cut scenes. The whole of the rest of the cinema vacated as soon as the credits rolled, and the poor cleaning-up crew had to wait for us stragglers! Worth it.

We got to bed around 1am, before night-time shenanigans occurred. Sadly for me, the alarm was set before 7am so he could get to work... I am still knackered despite getting an extra few hours in after he left and would have preferred to just sleep through. Unless he shows up on Thursday night, that is how my Friday morning will roll. Sleep, glorious sleep...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble