Peaceful days should be on prescription

20 July 2016 - 8:13 p.m.

It has been a lovely day today. Needless to say, I was not in work - I am getting sick an tired of busy 10-hour days in 35 degree heat whilst full of a summer cold...

Today, I spoke to the landlady briefly. She is lovely, but I get scant warning of a visit, which always seems to coincide with my day off and lasts the best part of it... She is doing all the hard work in the garden, so can't complain too much!

I spoke to one of the new(ish) neighbours, as the landlady mentioned they wanted to know who my chimney sweep was. They are super nice and I am lucky to have them. I am, however, extremely envious of their view...

I went to Mum and Dad's and left the car. Dad asked if it needed cleaning as he had far too much hot water in need of running off thanks to the solar panels. It would have been rude not to help them out, right? (I did the inside and helped change wiper blades, but Dad did an awesome job!)

Mum and I disappeared for a few hours to the local abbey ruins - apparently bits of it are some of the best preserved in Europe! Who knew? We may have got free entry, as the custodian may let locals in... Something about wearing split-sided trousers around somewhere minks used to live and not fraternise with women felt inherently wrong - especially when the wind blew - but it was a very lovely, peaceful visit that we both enjoyed.

Peregrines were seen overhead when we returned, which is the first time they've been so close since the cliffs collapsed a few years ago. Wonderful to see and hear!

I then returned back to the cottage and things started to balance the day...

I may have injured the bank account yet again by not being supervised online. In the long run, it will please me greatly and whole chunks of life will be lost to the games I've had for so damn long and haven't been able to play.

I am also in need of finishing the work trousers that I decided to try to re-hem whilst not really knowing how and not having any of the necessary equipment with which to do it properly - such as an iron (hair straighteners are not sufficient for the task it seems).

Who knows what the rest of the evening shall bring?

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble