Time out

15 September 2016 - 8:25 p.m.

The weekend was bloody lovely!!

We ended up picking our way through single-track roads in the torrential rain and with the tarmac covered in frogs. Sheep in some places too. We avoided as many frogs as we realistically could, as not going over any of the sheer edges or hitting a sheep were more vital...

We arrived at the co-ordinates we were given (not even a place name!), and Tom met us on the dirt bike. We wended our way for what seemed like an age more until we finally found the cottage - Tom's family home for generations. Rain still pelting, we ducked inside, greeted them both and promptly fell into bed to sleep.

The insomnia made that pretty much impossible, but I got 2 hours in...

We had a lazy morning, and got up in time for a late breakfast, which was being cooked by Tom and Shan.

The views out of the window were spectacular!! Middle of NOWHERE!! The view across the Welsh hillsides was devoid of dwellings. Buzzards and kestrels were in the air, with whinchats and stonechats around the cottage itself. Red kites were around too, with one swooping out from behind a tree to wheel around in front of us. Gray said it's the closest he's ever been to a bird of prey - may have to get him a little closer one of these days! The original, stunning stone cottages are now used as out buildings, and one is home to barn owls. I'm sure I heard one call as we sat watching Blackadder one afternoon...

Along with the TV and accompanying crochet, we played Exploding Kittens and a few boardgames. This was interspersed with walks - short for me but lovely nonetheless. Mountains, moorland, forest, valleys... The rain had swollen the rivers a lot so we went to see some waterfalls. I found peace in the roar of the water, hypnotised by the flow down the rockfaces. I was glad of a hood, as the spray was something else!

Sunshine and fresh air and great company did the trick, and my insomnia broke finally! This was both fantastic for my sanity and general wellbeing, but sad that I was finally losing weight from my ass and thighs through being awake for stupid hours. I'm not sure how much I lost on those 2 weeks, but my jeans are baggy in those areas...

I let Gray hear my singing for the first time, albeit mighty retrained. One of my albums in the car, there was no getting away from it! I didn't thinnk he payed much attention, as it was turned up pretty far, but lying in bed on Sunday night, he actually thanked me for singing as he enjoyed listening. I think he may change his tune later on! I may see how far I can push that, as I do love to sing and never get the chance...

Monday was spent deep-cleaning Gray's flat after the tenants left it in a state. Gray painted the lounge whilst I cleaned the carpets elsewhere and disinfected the kitchen.

The kitchen was disgusting!! They hadn't bothered to clean anything, even when they'd spilt food down cupboards... I could tell where the sauce cupboard had been, and where they kept rice and bread. I know they ate a lot of red food that congealed very well. Confusingly, I also found a pube in one of the drawers... I think we have both disinfected that one - along with all surfaces - many times...

It took him 2 days, but he found the Wagon Wheels I placed in his fridge. I'm glad he appreciated them as much as I thought he might. He has no idea how hard it was to leave chocolate behind!

Today I went on a dormouse survey. We think the population is dying out thanks to the bad winter a few years back taking all the hibernation sites. They don't think there are enough in the area to breed successfully and sustain numbers, which makes me incredibly sad.

No dormice, but we did find evidence. I came away with a hazelnut that had been eaten last season, with a perfectly round, smooth hole bored into it, with tiny teeth marks on the edges. We found 2, plus another recent one.

I got up close and personal with an unexpected wood mouse, who jumped out of a nest box and ran off.

More sunshine, walking, fresh air. Perfect! I need more of this...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble