A sum of the last fortnight

03 January 2017 - 8:53 p.m.

Well, that was the festive season then!

I have to be honest, I am very much looking forward to a break.

Work has been insanely relentless, ironically since the boss vacated the country. I guess it does have a tendency to happen when people stop adulting en masse, and indeed why the boss disappeared...

Our day off was incredible - youngest (preggers) sis got engaged, there was food, laughter and my childhood home.

Wednesday was also amazing - the day's work culminated in 10 people in my tiny house - all the family, partners and Gray's younger brother. It actually didn't suck for anybody!! The food was ideal - all I had left at the end was a tiny sliver of quiche, two mini soufflettes and some breadsticks. I may have underestimated how much the boys can eat, but so pleased there was enough for all.

Thursday I finally had my hair recoloured. Four insanely bright colours this time...

New Year was spent in bed. Awake, but in bed... Gray turned up just in time, having been told he'd be around around 8pm, so after a full-on week, it was bed or nothing. The following day - after work - we had a very happy New Asassinmas together. We opened the presents a week late, then went to the cinema. Having played Assassin's Creed games every New Year for over half a decade, it seemed apt to see the film as it came out on the 1st. Again, a relentless daytime so sleep was very much needed... Unfortunately, Gray had only got up in the afternoon and continued talking until well, well after midnight...

Today I emptied the cafe of festive decorations, and put out new stock to fill the empty shelves. I also managed to do all of the ordering, cash duties and serve customers, as well as clean the place down long after the rest of the staff had vacated the premises.

The next two days were meant to be spent on the dormouse survey, replacing boxes for the new season, but instead I am going to be having a bloody lie-in tomorrow!! Also I really must catch up on the fortnight-worth of washing that has accumulated... Then my car is in for the annual M.O.T. on Thursday...

Ah, and would you believe it - now the sales have ended, my television has packed up! Right in the middle of the concluding part of the new Silent Witness story!!! FFS... No gaming or films for me, oh no! Instead I shall have to catch up the rest of the world and try to induce diabetes by consuming all the food I can find... Or - more accurately - pack away my own festive decorations (and THEN eat all the stuff).*

*Unless I can find a T.V. wizard, in which case, sod the lot. I'll happily just vegetate instead.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble