The things I do for charity...

21 June 2017 - 9:53 p.m.

Happy Solstice everyone!

I did not intend to see in the sunrise, having seen in so many over the weekend (festival!), but I did, albeit from my bed - thanks to a noisy Apollo...

Soon after that, I travelled up country with my parents to a small airfield, an hour before were were due to be there. We had already stopped at the motorway services to kill time and grab breakfast, whilst watching baby moorhens, dragonflies, damselflies, and house martins drinking on the wing.

Once at the airfield, we were greeted by a tanned chap in blue. It transpired that he was the pilot for the day.

Over time, more and more people turned up - another 7 participants and their support crowd.

I was 3rd in line - therefore had to watch the test flight of a Breitling bi-plane, complete with harness, plus 2 others... (Our Boeing Stearman didn't want to start and thus stayed in the hanger, but Bart the Breitling was happy to step in, all gleaming from a recent clean.)

My turn! Getting up was alright. Testing the mechanics of the harness was easy and yet my proficiency at it surprised the girl. We chatted as ear plugs and goggles were adjusted, then the wing-mounted GoPro was turned on. I have since seen the footage and it is INCREDIBLE the effect that several Gs of wind-force has on a person! I did not feel that wobbly, but by gods - my face was flapping away, as were my arms, my legs... My eyes streamed, as did my nose, and at one point my tee-shirt rode up a bit. I was thankful, however, that my stitching to the front of the crotch of my leggings held, but it almost tore the stitches open...

Fly-pasts, banks, zoom-climbs, dives - loved every second!!!!!! I commented that I was envious to one of the girls, and she replied that I was the right height to become a wing-walker... Ooooh, now that is damn tempting!!

There are videos. There are photos. I look sexy in only the far away ones, and the impressive 100 degree bank that I wished had turned into a barrel roll. Next time!

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble