Today's capers

20 July 2017 - 9:58 p.m.

After a rough and pretty sleepless night checking on the baby, I finally gave in to sleep.

3 hours later, 5.30am was my wake-up time on my day off... Typical! Worry compelled me out of bed once more, in time to see the baby still working it's way out of the old carapace. I have never, EVER known a moult so painfully slow!! I managed to get the moult out hours later, when the spiderling had freed itself completely and had righted itself. The concern turned to utter relief, and then I got to work laying the shedding out in position to study it, before it hardened (unlike the pretty red knee's one that now sits permanently contorted). I am not a hundred percent sure, but I may have struck it lucky and have another two girls - I checked both of the babies' moults for signs of gender - fingers crossed I got it right! That'd potentially be another twenty+ years of keeping these oddities!

After lunch, I divvying out the cafe tips. I don't get anything for doing any of it bar for the obligatory money envelopes that I seal them in for people, but I do not mind. It is going to carry on as it is too according to the new boss - great for us! I will take the lock box back tomorrow, along with the head chef's dragon motif keyring. It had broken so I have done my best to fix it for him. His mum just died, and I know he is fond of the keyring, so it is the least I could do. I just wish I had access to better tools to make a better job of it, but know he'll just be glad it is in one piece.

I caught up with my sister this afternoon. My niece is starting to teeth, so is in a permanent state of grumbly, but I got my fair share of smiles. I hope my sister enjoyed having the company too, and she got out of the house for the first time today. We took baby and dogs to the park. It drizzled to begin with but the sun was hot when it came out.

I left after giving her the matryoshka from Russia, several hours later.

I got petrol for the first time in two months (wow!) and returned home, stopping off to sort my parents' post out, and their neighbours' post too.

I received a message from a young co-worker, asking if he could come over to play a bit of vintage PS2, but I made an excuse and apologised. In truth I couldn't face company, and I can not fathom where my parents put the PS2 controllers, memory card or power lead... I literally just have the PS2 itself... WTF?! Also, Kingdom Hearts 2 is either missing or in the machine...

I need sleep, feel like shit and have work early tomorrow, but I don't feel as though sleep will come... Guess I'll do my best, and hope to goodness the alarms get me out tomorrow.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble