Heavy hearted

08 February 2020 - 4:36 p.m.

Today I started grieving as one of my fur babies went into rapid decline and passed away within hours of a vet appointment to try to bring him back up... He just lay down as I was going to work, and left this world.

My beautiful grey and white goofball bunny who used to get my attention by chewing the hutch while making eye contact; who had a penchant for new broadband cables and sewing box tassels and book dust covers... Who hopped away in crazy fashion if you tried to touch him and yet the rustle of a treat packet and he was first in line. Who played fetch with his toys, the noisier the better...

It has been a very hard day at work today but I made it... And now the grief pours back in...

I don't care what people say, animals become family. This pain is the price we pay for that, but it is tinged with the feeling I failed him.. I don't know how many times I have repeated the words "I'm sorry" to him.

One more under the old apple tree at the family home. Once more, my parents have been my grounding. My safe haven.

One remaining bunny. His twat of a ginger brother... So far not missing his brother and is set to gain with another tier to his hutch and another whole room to roam in. Not to mention all the treats... But that is fine by me, I have hurt enough for both of us.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble