Forward planning

09 February 2021 - 10:29 a.m.

I got curious and started looking up travel routes for if/when I go to visit him... Holy cow, it isn't going to be easy. Or cheap... Or even possible at the moment, but you can never be too prepared, right?

The shortest route would see me driving to catch a flight then taking a train... Roughly £300... Next shortest route is to drive 9 hours non stop over 650 miles. Just no. Trains the bulk of the way would be hellishly expensive but the most sensible route...

All depends on the pandemic, restrictions, safety and demand... Prices come lockdown end. Single tickets versus other options. Work, and vacation being approved.

At least we will meet half way to start with... Much, much cheaper and more manageable for both of us.

The other fears are still valid, but pushed to the back for now. Today is a good if chilly day so far. We have banded a few messages back and forth and it is just a nice, chilled day despite his obligations to do some work. I am trying to stay warm in the sub zero temperatures, disappointed that no snow has fallen and settled yet to make the cold worth it. My car battery is on charge, as it wouldn't even unlock yesterday, and I am on a waiting list for firewood. My main heater is still broken 3 weeks on, with the electricians giving me the run around as always... As long as the exotic animals stay warm enough, I will cope. Not sure some of the houseplants will make it, but a few less would actually be a good thing!

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble