Funday Monday

03 June 2002 - 7:42 p.m.

The big day.....

I got there around 8.30am, and it was peeing down with rain. I didn't cry, but felt like it whilst everyone decided whether to call the whole thing off.

But the stage got set up, the cover, the PA... and then the bands!

The DLO had to be called out because the licensing people didn't trust the PA guy that they recommended...... hmmmmmmmmmmm........

And then half the stuff we had booked didn't show. Great(!)

But Tom (Snowfish) played a fantastic solo set. I am really disappointed that I couldn't get his demo off of him, but my mother insisted that I have my photo taken with him......

Catalyst - all the way from Cornwall - played the next stint, and were brilliant. They were the only female-fronted band, and got a good response. At the grand finale of their set, the stage covering blew over backwards, away from the stage! Nice timing!!

It was iffy whether the other bands would play, as it had just stopped raining. The tent was broken (bent and snapped poles), so I was about to cry again.

But the sun shined!!

Como (from Bristol) played next, and I made friends with their manager. They played a really good set, and stayed to see the last play.

The sun stayed shining! But unfortunately we had to let the Scouts brass band play, as they had travelled from Lancashire (why?!).

Before the final band, I had a dedication read out over the PA, to wish my Mum and Dad a happy 30th (pearl) anniversary. I had to do it!

Starshaped really blew everyone away - they may be mainly a covers band, but they really are good. I'm glad they are fairly local, as I want to see them again. Tom's voice is amazing. I wish I could play the guitar like that too. They got the best response of the day, and several thousand people turned up!!!!

After that, the scout brass band played some more (including YMCA - help!), but the park had emptied by then!!

I now have a sunburnt face though (and I'm the only one to have caught it badly for some reason), as I didn't realise at the time of the event.

I never realised how my input would make such an impact. I am glad it's all over, but sad that it had to end.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble