Heatwave

04 August 2003 - 8:22 p.m.

How've you all been? I've been overheating, and there is worse to come - it is already the hottest weather we've had here in 13 years, and it is set to get even hotter. Goody(!)

Yesterday, I met an old friend in town - he's here for a few days before returning to the Emerald Isle for another year. So Tuesday night he's having the usual send-off in the hotel bar...

Me and my Czech friend were sat (once again) in the pub after work yesterday. The others were on a trip somewhere, so it was just the two of us this time.

She has been staring at one of the young bartenders (nicknamed Chairman by us for some reason...) ever since she came into the country 6 weeks ago. I found out his name for her, and they've started to say hello to each other. Each time, they both go shy and very red!

Anyway, his eyes hardly ever left her yesterday, and I was going to tell her so as soon as she came down the stairs again to our seat. However, as she was coming down them, he started to go up.

He was staring at her so hard that he tripped on a step and fell right past her! And everyone saw, and are not going to let either of them forget it, poor things!

I did manage to get Chairman's number and stored it on her 'phone. And she WILL use it...!

K is working in town on Thursday, so I'm going to pop along and see him after I finish at the hotel. I last saw him before Christmas, so it'll be good to catch up! Mind you, he doesn't want to be working here, and I don't blame him - it's not the most exciting place you could be sent...

Friday, I am going to spend the day with K, probably standing in the freezer section of Tesco if it gets that hot.

Now, I have to go and eat ice cream. For my own health.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble