Green minds think alike

16 January 2007 - 8:14 p.m.

Today, I have been taking things easy. My back is still sore, but worst hit are my legs. I have to get used to it though, as I intend to plant up every available space with plants.

The shrubbery is being extended, with plenty to more than fill it already!

The many experimental cuttings I took last season are rooting very well. I am a little disappointed with the willow cuttings, especially as this is willow country, but at least some have taken. The accidental and non-native ones are looking the best, which I did not expect! Anyone who wants to rehome something, there is a selection available...

Our woodland has become a bit too managed in recent years. The diversity of both flora and fauna has decreased(we have recently said farewell to our red squirrels). If only it were reversible...

By the looks of it, however, I am not the first or only person to think about these things. It is amazing, and indeed quite wonderful, to see the number of different native species that are newly appearing on the woodland floor. The carpets of bluebells and snowdrops have been joined by cyclamen, oak seedlings, horse chestnuts, foxgloves, ferns, wood anemone...

I thought about trying to spell something out in wildflowers in the top fields, so I could see them from my house, but I have not become that extreme, yet.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble