Samhain 2013

31 October 2013 - 5:28 p.m.

I have spent a wonderful day carving designs in a pumpkin. I love it, it's like a ritual! Sadly, most designs I liked were too tall to fit on my stupid pumpkin, but I still managed to carve a wolf's head, a haunted house with bats and a witch and cat dancing around it. It was all waaaay too intricate for such a small vegetable, but I did it. Kind of. In a record 2 hours.

Yes, there are a few bits of pattern missing. I still have a life, and rheumatism in my hands.

I also decorated the run up to the house with all of the mini pumpkins I grew this year. They look amazing! So pretty in tiny piles everywhere.

The door knocker I got given of a toothy green man has also gone up, tied to the door handle. He has sat in the bottom of the cupboard for years, so I decided it is his time now. And he looks awesome. And creepy...

Now all I need is for the kids up the lane to come down! The last time I dressed it all up with spiders and cobwebs and lit balloons, there was not one miserable soul to see it.

On the plus side, if nobody comes, I have to empty the disconcerting plush singing pumpkin of sweets. The diet will have to wait should that be the case...

UPDATE: Not one miserable child. Mum is eating the sweets...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble