6th February

07 February 2017 - 9:15 p.m.

Yesterday was the first proper day of being productive. Despite losing a belt loop worth of weight in a week, I found the energy to do all of the housework plus clean out the piglet and all 3 spiders.

The old madam was tetchy and so was ushered into a large mug to remove her from the housing. It was pretty straight forward to clean out and replace everything, and lastly put her back.

The other two were not so simple.

I had gone to the pet shop after taking piglet to the vet (he's fine!) to pick up a few necessary items. Thermometers, hygrometers, heat mats, housing and food to be precise... plus some cork bark so that I can later make them some places to hide that are better than what they have now. I had picked up substrate too, but it didn't come home with me... Thankfully it wasn't charged either! I was glad I kept some spare, and it actually did the lot.

Little did I know what a state the little ones were really in when they arrived... I gingerly picked out cork bark and plastic vines, and tossed the rest of whatever was in the containers. I did the usual and filled the sink in order to wash them one at a time. It was then that I realised why the owners were probably critically ill...

I scrubbed, and I scrubbed, and little by little the thick, orange film of cigarette tar came away to reveal clear glass or plastic. That explained the vile smell!!

The baby Chilean rose got put into the new housing, as the one it came in was ridiculously huge.

The Mexican redknee got placed back in the original housing. It's still slightly opaque but at least I can now see through...

I managed to handle both of the babies, without fear! I took some shots as proof, just in case...

All three are seen out in the open. It looks like the redknee at least has explored, as there are fine threads strewn around. I panicked when I couldn't see it, but found it eventually, atop the cork tunnel and just underneath the lid I don't think the others have moved much at all...

The dressing table that houses them all is now probably the tidiest part of the entire bungalow...

Yesterday afternoon I got an invite to baby sister's house. I gladly accepted! I honestly can not remember the last time we got to catch up together. We watched a show or two, made rocky road crispy cakes, I helped her prepare her dinner and set off having had a lovely time. Just over two weeks and the baby is imminently due...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble