Swiss roll and a party

06 May 2003 - 10:35 p.m.

Today we made a Swiss roll.

P mixed the ingredients, whilst I tackled the greaseproof paper, as it was fighting to get out of the tin. In the end, it took the both of us to pin it down enough for us to pour on the mixture.

It took twice as long as expected, and eventually went from the pasty yellowish colour of uncooked Swiss roll to a golden brown in under 20 seconds.

We panicked when watching this, flung open the oven doors, and I grabbed the tray with the teatowel I had been carrying around all morning (you never can tell when it may come in handy around the kitchen. Plus the other 3 I had picked out disappeared).

P trimmed off the crispier edges, and I ate them. Of course, I saved some for P, as it would have been mean to scoff it all. Although that was veeeerrryyy tempting at the time....

We spread on the jam, and rolled the sponge. The rolling took 2 attempts, as the first time a hole was left in the middle. The second attempt forced the jam to be squashed out of the way of the compressed sponge, and the end result was almost jamless. It looked nice though, but I had to leave it behind. Maybe I'll get a slice on Thursday. If there's any left that is....

And off I trundled, to celebrate Mum's jubilee (okay, we celebrated her birthday yesterday, but I felt the need to do something actually ON her special day). I piled up the cards that weren't opened yesterday, and stood the (several) bottles of wine next to each other, with relevant cards attached. Needless to say, she wasn't expecting it, and it was nice to be able to stretch out the celebrations (especially for her!)

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble