Family misfortune

16 May 2003 - 10:09 p.m.

Every single day, my middle sister and her boyfriend come to the house. They only live 10 minutes away, even though my sister still insists on driving.

Very rarely do they leave the T.V., except to depleat the food stores. What's worse is that they expect others to clear up after them, as they are 'guests' - sweet wrappers, crumbs, plates, mugs, food left out of the fridge.... and this weekend, I'm the one clearing up. The parents are away, I can't just leave it, and they're unreasonable to talk to about it.

I feel like an au pair rather than a sister, and I feel unwelcome in the same room as either one of them - especially as they mostly come to eat, sleep and insult.

My sister has started to cut me off, and will talk to me when she wants something, shout out cynical remarks, and bark orders. She even ignored me on my birthday, which hurt.

Her boyfriend has adopted our family as one he wished he'd had. He always likes his own way, and if he doesn't get it, he'll decrease in mental age and throw hurtful remarks in your direction. He is also a chauvinist, a bigot, and - when it suits him - a racist.

It has come to the point where I cannot bear to be in the same room as either one of them. Instead, I choose to keep to myself, lest they point their mouths my way. So far today, I have spent almost 7 hours alone, in the hope that they would vacate the premises soon. They have no idea that they drive me to crying because I can't get away. All I want is my own space, peace, sanity and cleanliness - the aftermath is never pleasant.

I have tried to talk to my family, but they just don't seem to understand how much this affects me. It's cutting me up inside. I am so sick of being treated like someone who shouldn't be seen or heard, and being the butt of their comments.

I feel as though I have no respite, no escape.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

I have just had a telephone call from my father - apparantly They are moving back in, as of tomorrow. Please God, save my sanity.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

By the way, the party last night was good.

In the end, there were too many emotional drunks, and one of the chairs got broken during a spot of chair-racing (a jockey against a resident. The jockey successfully won the race, with his chair still in good form).

I also started to realise how big a hole the people leaving will leave in my life. (Does this sentence make sense to you? I can't read it without going cross-eyed. Maybe it's just me.)

Apart from that, I actually managed to enjoy the evening.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

A happier update tomorrow.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble