What a day

22 May 2005 - 10:42 p.m.

Well now, today has been an interesting and exhausting day.

I wake up to a mangled goose making a lot of noise close by.

Oh, wait a sec, there's a peacock on the roof.

Where the bloody hell did that come from?!

The neighbour appears.

"Is it yours? It's not mine you know. My mate says they're a pair of cranes or something."

Peahen. Female peacock. Take a damn look at the thing!! (I get grouchy in the mornings...)

Wait... Did he say a pair?

*Mangled goose*

Ah yes, the other one.

Off to work I trundled, and down the rain poured. And poured. And hammered down so hard that the roof at work decided to leak in several places.

It must have affected people's minds, as a car pulled straight out in front of me, slowed down, sped up, pulled to the other side of the road and then waited for me to pass... I managed that, but then I got tailgated all the way to work by the same vehicle. I'm not the best driver, but that's pushing it...

Today was the culmination of many a weeks of being charitable. Stupid, stupid, stupid - always ignore the customers.

Yes, I will look after a child for a few minutes at a time whilst their parents look at something. Shop owners will send theirs through occasionally for a drawing before being herded home.

Not today.

Every possible child was left in my shop for the entire day, with just me as the babysitter-accountant-shopkeeper-cleaner-smileyhappy person.

By closing time I was ready to rip their darling little heads off with my teeth. No more snotty noses, crumbs, germs and other assorted nasties. NO MORE!!!

The journey home was spent simmering away the anger and frustration of the day.

With one crow of a peahen, it evaporated. The pair had decided to hang around the neighbourhood, and were happily perched on the neighbour's roof this time.

We don't know where they belong, but would be happy for them to stick around.


The one above features Stumpy the blackbird (AKA White Stripe), who recently lost his oddly white tail feathers somehow.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble