Being a good Samaritan has its downside...

17 February 2012 - 6:45 p.m.

Last night was meant to be a good night, and the whole of my skittles team was looking forward to it.

As it was in the middle of nowhere, we car-shared and followed the captain to our destination.

The alley was the worst I have ever played on. The pockmarks made it more like pinball than skittles...

We lost by a whopping 76...

The last ball was thrown at high velocity by the other team. It ricocheted off the back wall and connected with our sticker-up's ankle bone. Ouch! Plenty of ice applied...

It was an early finish, however, and we looked forward to an early night. Great!

That early night ended the moment we came across a car on its roof, debris everywhere. It had hit a muddy verge at full speed.

Captain parked to flash any other road-users down, and I backed into a steep lane that enabled my lights to shine into the car. My passenger and I rushed over, but there was no sign of the driver - the only passenger judging by the seatbelt. No blood. Nothing except the car and assorted pieces.

One out of seven of us had a phone signal, so we rang the police. They had no record of the incident, and would send someone to the scene.

I donned the fluorescent yellow jacket I keep in the car for emergencies, and stood in my car headlights whenever a car approached, so I could advise how best to get through the road to avoid the most debris. Most were concerned locals, but nobody recognised the car.

The cold and the drizzle took their toll, and I turned off my car lights to save battery, just leaving the crash flash on. It was clearly visible in the darkness of the narrow country lanes.

An hour later, and we saw flashing lights approaching. Not the police but the highways crew to clean up.

Another call to the police, and we find out that actually they have been, and probably drove away from the scene just as we got there.

We climbed back into the cars. Mine was dead. No jump leads, no rope. The other girls would not leave, and one offered to reverse bump start the car. Unfortunately, I agreed. With no battery comes no light, and my car hit a rocky verge at speed. At that moment, my night could not get worse.

The highways people came back to see why we were still around, as they had finished their job. One skittles member phoned her husband, and he was going to come out and rescue us as soon as his parents babysat the kids.

At that moment, I decided to try one last time. IT STARTED!!!

I pulled the car out, and highways inspected the damage with a torch. Scratches to the corner under-bumper, but nothing else - phew!!

Off home!!!

We were elated to pass through the dark lanes to the next village a few miles away- one we recognised.

When the other car pulled over close to town, we panicked - but they were just checking we were alright. I love my girlies!

I dropped my passenger home, then started toward home a few more miles away.

I let my captain know I was home safely, and we had a chat on the telephone to make sense of a few things.

1am - sleep time...

Today I received an apology from the police. And a request for myself to join them on a patrol some time. I may take them up on that some time...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble