Once in a lifetime

21 May 2012 - 9:02 p.m.

Work was busier than I expected today, considering the special relay through the area and a crane hulking static caravans in and out of the park next door to the cafe.

So, that thing I really wasn't bothered to go and see became a last-minute mad dash to finish work and head to a relevant village.

I even managed to drag along a co-worker, with yet another cycling to the same location.

We found an insanely empty stretch of road - perfect!!

We even knocked on the boss' door and dragged them out - well, why miss something literally on your doorstep?

A short wait, and the Olympic torch was carried through! The young lad holding it aloft must have been so proud - the smile on his face was lovely to see.

We all managed to scrounge a cup of tea and had a guided tour around the boss' house and gardens. When the hoards had disappeared and it was once again safe to be on the roads, off we went.

What topped my day off was the fact that my 95-year-old grandmother also got out to see it. Although, her main fascination seemed to be the school buses and how much they've changed over the years...

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble