Day 3

09 November 2013 - 7:47 p.m.

I have survived well so far despite my daring new hairstyle.

Loads of people say they love my hair.

I've had a tonne of stupid lame-ass comments that insult, from "Hallowe'en was last week" to "Did it go wrong?" and "was it a dare?". I let those go over my head. One regular came in, looked disappointed, shook his head and said "Oh Poppy. Why would you do that?" - to which my only reply was "Why not?".

One lady came in yesterday - not for the first time - with her husband. She made my entire day. She got up after finishing her meal, and came over to the counter.

"I'm so sorry, I don't mean to be rude and as much as I don't want to, I have to say: there's something different about you today but I just can't put my finger on it."

I love her!!! My cousin and I looked at each other when she walked away. When such a striking difference goes unnoticed, it's fantastic! And funny.

One regular today said something that I took to heart and will always remember. It was heartfelt, said with love. It is what I've been striving to do but haven't found the words for it. It is what I am all about at the moment.

"Never, ever lose your free spirit."

My hair colour doesn't harm my capability, my current prospects nor anyone around me. So I give the biggest 2-fingered salute to every hater out there. If you don't like it, TOUGH!!!!

Question: Why are reds, coppers and oranges deemed socially acceptable, but no other colours are? What's the difference?!

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble