Food, glorious food

22 December 2013 - 8:41 p.m.

Too much preparation, food, expense and not enough sleep. Man, did we create a creepy gingerbread army! All in all a good Solstice weekend. It was lovely to see everybody again too, it'd been too long a while.

The peppermint truffles went down the best, despite being the simplest things to make. I had my fair share of everything. I regretted it, but it was worth it. I also came away with revised versions of the satay sauce and peanut butter cups. Why is it that the awesome stuff is so damn unhealthy?! I'd LOVE to have a salad speak to my taste buds in such a delectably smutty way.

The chocolate chilli tart didn't go particularly well with the others, mostly due to being hidden behind so many other delights. It didn't have the pizazz I guess, being dark and demure amongst the colour and sparkle. I, however, was sat right next to it and casually helped myself. Well, I bagged a chair by the end of the buffet table so I could be nearer the food I liked best - is that so wrong? Not too dry, and the spice lingered, warming the back of my throat.

I actually came across the recipe here when looking for Turkish cookery ideas that I could use when over with the Boy. Sadly there are no ovens, but I dared to try this one at home last winter and bookmarked it. It sets so there is no need for a pastry base, and is a bit like a frangipane in consistency. I will probably try the combination for baked souffl�s some time, when I fancy a change from chocolate and Amaretto (if that's possible!). Or truffles. Or a proper chilled tart... Oooh, the possibilities...

After a very late night at which I was doing my damndest to stay awake and look interested - one of which I failed at miserably - I got a cool 3 hours sleep. I staked out the kitchen and ended up picking at the vanilla rolls left from last night to stave off the rumbles coming from my stomach.

When everyone else arose, we decided it was easiest to walk to the pub for breakfast. Everyone else had full-on fry-ups, full of glorious post-booze stodge. As I didn't drink, I opted for thick pancakes smothered in maple syrup with a couple rashers of bacon on which the fat had gone crispy yet melting. Just what I needed, OH yes. As a bonus, a few of the others had breakfast envy.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble