Shells

01 March 2015 - 9:44 p.m.

I spent an hour sanding a freshwater mussel shell under water (dust causes a type of asbestosis), and have come to the conclusion that the work was worth the terrible state my hands ended up in.

However, I also decided I need to buy a dremel...

I'm not sure what I will do with the mussel shells. They make me both happy and sad.

Happy: They are stunning! Huge specimens, from the river by middle sis, and they average roughly 80 years in age!

Sad: The farm practices and resulting run-off have wiped out living populations in all but a few rivers countrywide, and so these are the shells that we are saving from the dredgers. All the while, nobody is accountable, and too few people care.

I am determined to give them a new reincarnation. Maybe a simple hinge and clasp as a small handbag or purse. For now, a few are lined up across my mantelpiece until my hands have dewrinkled.

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble